Hopkins Academy

The Man behind The Book: An Interview with David O’Leary Wielgosz

In Features on November 5, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Aaron Goff  ‘12

The author that I was able to get in touch with was David Wielgosz. He comes from Holyoke, Massachusetts and just graduated from high school. He is now attending Fairleigh Dickinson University in New Jersey. The book he wrote is called Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired. It’s a very realistic book about high school and the problems that one encounters there. The book describes the story of a high school Sophomore, Gardner Fox, who is nerdy and a little overweight. He struggles to define himself because everyone is so caught up in the materialistic things. Fox hates people who try to be something they’re not. Everything changes on the last day of school when him and his best friend, Todd, get into a fight about a girl and whether or not they had actually been friends in the first place. That summer Fox changes everything. He gets into shape and tries out many different styles to see which one people like the best. The rest of the book is about his struggle with life, death, sexuality, friendship, and the reappearance of someone that no one saw coming, but Fox has trouble dealing with this all at once. This book is many things wrapped up into one: sad, angsty, and happy, but most of all it is a coming of age story about the facts of life. We see Gardner as a person we can strive to be; someone who understands that not everything is perfect and you have to deal with that fact. In the book,  Gardner Fox addresses the reader, which is something that I have not seen an author do before. You can purchase Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired on the Barnes and Noble website.

Aaron

I have here David O’Leary Wielgosz, author of Sick and Tired of Sick and Tired, So, Dave, how long have you worked on your recently published book Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired?

David

I worked on it for about six months before the first printing. There was some extra effort and work that came with the second printing, but the first printing of the writing took about six months.

Aaron

Now tell me about the publishing company that put out your book. Are they an independent company?

David

Yeah.  They’re called wordclay they specialize in do it yourself published books, but after we sold a lot of the first printing their parent company, Author’s Resources, took over the management and offered me a bigger deal and other stuff. They’re located in Illinois, near Chicago

Aaron

So can your books be purchased all around the country at Barnes and Noble?

David

On the Barnes and Noble website as well as a lot of other ones. It’s not physically in the stores, but I believe if you ask them to order it for you they’ll get it.

Aaron

Well, that’s great. now in the book there has been speculation that the life of Gardner Fox is based on true story, is it?

David

Parts. There are bits and pieces that come from real life as is true of any work of fiction, but its a fictional book through and through. I don’t pursue blondes or red heads as my main character does. I’m a brunette man myself.

Aaron

Now, at the end of the book when Gardner addresses the reader- is that your kind of outtake on life?

David

Absolutely. I find that in the moment a lot of things are overwhelming, and I think that you need to look forward in the long run a lot. But it does get better, and now in college on the outside looking in I can say that with 100% honesty that it’s a fact.

Aaron

Now, in the book a mountain is mentioned that used to be in a park. Is that your way of putting Mt. Tom into the gist of things?

David

Absolutely. I’m not sure I was very clear about it, but the book does take place in a fictionalized version of Western Mass. There are a few other references to that fact, too.

Aaron

So, Gardner Fox was a huge comic book fan and it was a ritual to go to the local comic book store. Does that place exist?

David

Yeah , Modern Myths in Northampton. In the book I believe I called it Present Day Fables. It is my favorite store, and one of my favorite places in the world.

Aaron

Now, I know that you’re a huge comic book fan and actually have two comic books out called the Ace Rocketman Anthology. How long have you been into comic books?

David

Since I was about four years old. They’re my favorite thing in the world, and comics are definitely my favorite storytelling medium. If I could draw, honestly, Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired would’ve absolutely been a graphic novel. And someday, who knows, it might be.

Aaron

Now you have multiple artists to your comic books – Antonio, Marco, and Casey. How long have you known them?

David

Antonio I’ve known for five years, Casey four years, and Marco for about a year year and a half, I think. But it feels like a lot longer. I love those guys like family, we literally share our dreams with each other and make them real. It’s a very special bond I share with each of them.

Aaron

So, for the Ace Rocketman Antholgy, do you have a number of projected issues you want to put out?

David

I’d say it’s going to be alive for another four years. How many issues that is- I’m not entirely sure, but until I’m out of college definitely. We have a lot of cool stuff coming up in the Ace Rocketman Anthology and new features to be announced at Christmas time.

Aaron

Now that you’re in college, how do get in touch with artists and work on the Anthology?

David

Facebook and Cell phones. I email, text, or call them everyday. And that’s how it works in the real world because writers and artists in comics live really far away from each other, so I’m getting used to it early, I suppose.

Aaron

Do they send you their work while at college?

David

Nah, just because scanning the massive pages is so difficult. I go home once a month, and the next time I go home in October I’m supposed to see a lot of awesome secret stuff.

Aaron

Will I, by chance, get a sneak preview of any of this secret stuff?

David

Absolutely. I’d say you, and a few other individuals will get to read some things before most of the world does as part of my collective reviewers guild.

Aaron

Now, I know your working on some new stuff, care to tell me about it?

David

I’d love to. Right now we’re producing a lot of short stories to pitch to big publishers, but at the same time I’m attempting to find an artist to get my Dancing Girl project off the ground. Two new features by new artists I’m working with called Dream Knight and Sexy Monsters are being worked on as we speak. And next year and for most of this year I’ll be committing to write auto-bio comics one called Little Victories and the other called The Show

Aaron

I have heard about most of your project but Dream Knight is a new one that I haven’t heard of, what’s the basis of it?

David

Dream Knight is actually the first comic I’ve co-written with a friend of mine named Nate Rivera, and drawn by an old friend named Mohamed Elkhitam and it is a western manga kind of, it’s about the nature of dreams and why we have nightmares. Which was conceived before Inception came out but has taken a while to produce.

Aaron

So The Show is about all of your favorite shows a couple that I myself have gone with you, so is it safe to say that music has influenced some of your writing?

David

Always. I always listen to music when I write, and I find the pacing of certain songs helps the pacing of the stories I write. Currently I’ve been listening to a lot of La Dispute and Four Year Strong while writing short stories.

Aaron

Favorite artist currently?

David

Oooh always a tough question, but I’ve re-fallen for Four Year Strong. So right now definitely them.

Aaron

So now in college do you think you’ll have any works about college life?

David

I’m not sure yet, it’s certainly possible. There’s so much less drama here though. Maybe if I fall in love or something, or something profoundly dramatic happens we’ll see. I wouldn’t rule it out.

Aaron

And you’re majoring in?

David

Creative Writing and minoring in Film.

Aaron

Film, tell me more about that.

David

I love film, I always have, film plays a huge influence in my work, especially comics. Most of my friends are film majors and I help them out with scripts and dialogue, and I just acted in a short film this past week actually. I want to work in all things, comics, television, film, and novels I want to be a storyteller of all kinds.

Aaron

Well hopefully we’ll see you on the big screen someday and have your work read around the world, but that about wraps it up.

One last question.

Favorite comic?

David

Of all time?

Aaron

All time.

David

All-Star Superman by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely. It’s the best thing in the universe and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Aaron

Not even for a date with Emma Stone.

David

Not even for a date with Emma Stone.

And I love her a lot.

Aaron

Well it has been great talking to you.

David

It’s always a pleasure, Aaron.

Aaron

That was writer David O’leary Wielgosz, author of Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired and the Ace Rocketman Anthology.

Dave currently has two comic books out that you can purchase at Modern Myths in Northampton. They’re called the Ace Rocketman Anthology. They are about a city in shambles that’s taken over by mob lords.  In order to put a stop to it, two high school teenagers need to make themselves into heroes. He also has an idea that would be a sequel to Sick and Tired of being Sick and Tired. He is also working on a graphic novel called Dancing Girl. It was originally going to be released earlier this year, but due to a certain mishap with a girl thinking that the story was about her, he decided not to release it . He is now working on it again and making revisions. Other things that he is working on include two comic books, one called The Show, which is about all the best concerts that he has been to and his experiences. The second comic book is called Sexy Monsters, in which he is trying to make vampires cool again after all of this Twilight nonsense ruined them.  He has an artist for the comic book and I got a sneak peek at the first four pages; the art is truly amazing. Once again, this upcoming author is David O’Leary Wielgosz who struck it big with people from Holyoke, Hadley, and other places around the country with his first book,  Sick and Tired of being Sick and Tired. Be on the lookout, because you might see more work of his pop up everywhere as he takes this industry by storm.

Leave a Reply

