Hopkins Academy

“Its a Circus, a SENIOR Circus!”

In Sports on February 27, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Monica Waskiewicz ’12

This basketball season has brought many new challenges throughout the year, but none of them big enough to slow our team down. Being one of the four senior girls, watching our season draw close to the end, it’s hard to realize that this is our last year. This is our last chance to work as hard as we can to get as far as we can. So far, we’ve won the title of Co-champions with Easthampton, but we all believe that we can make it so much farther. Being with the three other senior girls for almost my entire life has been amazing, and having to realize that this is my last year with them is almost unbearable to think about.

I asked my teammates what their favorite or most memorable moment of this season was –

Libby – I would have to say our crazy dance parties that we have in the lockerroom before the games. We all look so ridiculous but it’s so much fun. It really does get us pumped up!”

Emma – I like everything to be honest. But if I had to choose, it would probably be when we (us four) started calling ourselves a senior circus. When you put us four together, things get a little wild…I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Kelsey – My favorite moments from this season would have to be from every home game that we’ve played and how amazing our fans were. We appreciate how intense and enthusiastic everyone gets, it really pumps us up!”

For myself, if I had to pinpoint my favorite moment, it would be whenever we went over to coaches house and ate twice our weight of junk food and pizza. Just being together with the team is always quite an adventure, something hilarious is always happening. Whether it was coach making a funny comment, one of us doing or saying something embarrassing, or the younger Ciaglos being crazy and attacking us. I will never forget how close we all became this year, memories that will last a lifetime.

Saying goodbye is never an easy thing, but this isn’t goodbye for us. It may be close to the end of the season, but our friendships will last forever. This basketball season is something that I will never forget.

-Ms. Bernier note – Good Luck kiddos, all of HA will be cheering you on. 

Leave a Reply

